Six nominees shortlisted for Irish Sports Book of the YearThe42



A SHORTLIST OF SIX FORTS has been announced for the best Irish bookmaker of 2021 as part of the A post book.

The Sports Book of the Year Award, sponsored by Eason in association with Virgin Media’s Ireland AM, will be this year contested only by autobiographies or memoirs. It was won last year by Mark Tighe and Paul Rowan’s Champagne soccer ball, the definitive and mind-boggling tale of the FAI’s demise under John Delaney.

The autobiography of former Irish rugby international Willie Anderson, Crossing the line, ghosted by longtime Sunday Independent rugby correspondent Brendan Fanning, is one of six nominees this time around.

Devotion, the memoir of the great Gaelic football manager Mickey Harte (and a collaboration with author Brendan Coffey), is another, as is Dark blue, the best-selling autobiography of five-time Dublin All-Ireland winner Shane Carthy.

Memories of Kerry’s great footballer Aidan O’Mahony are also shortlisted, Uninterrupted, while current Munster and Ireland rugby star Keith Earls teamed up with Sindo’s Tommy Conlon to tell his story in Fight or run away.

A nation holds its breath, written about his life in and out of sport by RTÉ broadcasting legend George Hamilton, rounds out the six nominees.

A live ceremony to celebrate the winners of all categories of the An Post Book Awards will take place on Tuesday 23 November at the Convention Center in Dublin. It will also be streamed live for those unable to attend.


Connect with the stories that matter with exclusive analysis, insights and debates in The42 Membership.

Become a member

Meanwhile, a one-hour special will air on RTÉ One television on Wednesday, December 8, exploring the six books and authors shortlisted for the ‘Book of the Year 2021’ of the An Post Irish Book Awards, culminating with the revelation of this year’s big winner.

The public can vote for what they think are the best books of the year at All voters will participate in a raffle to win one of five National Book Tokens € 100 vouchers. Votes can be cast until November 15 at 5 p.m.



Comments are closed.