Recent Irish Music Releases (August 25)


This month a range of new Irish music has been released across folk, traditional, electronic, improvisational, contemporary, classical and hip hop. To learn more about the artists, click on the links below.

Last week (August 19), the Galway singer-songwriter Anna Mullarkey releases his first album Fall on Strange Brew Records. The ten-track disc incorporates electronic, ambient, folk and pop sounds, is a reflection on love in all its forms and follows Mullarkey’s previous release, the 2020 PE Speir. Also on Strange Brew Records, singer-songwriter Kerry Little brother released new track “This is My Body” along with a bold accompanying music video (August 17). The song will appear on his next album. The Great Irish Famine released September 2.

Dundalk Folk Group The Mary Wallopers released (August 23) a new single “Frost is All Over”, a traditional song made famous by Planxty to which the group added a new verse. Accompanied by a video by Dundalk filmmaker Sean McMahon, the song will feature on the band’s next album, due out this fall. The Mary Wallopers will tour across Ireland, UK and Europe from October to December.

Singer-songwriter, multi-instrumentalist and producer Gavin Murray, playing the role of mist towerjust released a new single ‘Boring Bread’ which will feature on the upcoming album The hedge maze and the spade will be released on September 21 via Pizza Pizza Records. The buzzing track with rustling percussion is accompanied by a music video shot and directed by filmmaker Graham Patterson.

Also released this month is the indie band’s debut album. Future West Who will forgive all my sins (August 19); multi-instrumentalist Sean Carpiothe latest single from ‘Floating Mountain’ – taken from his recent album Waves of a present and featuring singer-songwriter Aoife Nessa Frances (August 9); and the piano ballad of Ailbhe Reddy‘Shoulder Blades’ (August 19).

Diatribe label release last month (July 29) lost beesthe first album of Vagabond – the quartet composed of Lauren Kinsella (vocals), Matthew Halpin (saxophones, flute), Simon Jermyn (electric bass, electric guitar) and Matthew Jacobson (drums). This summer (July 1), the label also released The return of the prodigal sonthe first album of the electronic improvisation quartet Big spoon. Led by saxophonist Chris Engel, the group also includes Jacobson (drums), Shane O’Donovan (electronics) and Darragh O’Kelly (synths and keyboards).

Niamh Dunne, violinist and vocalist from Beoga, released a new song ‘The Raven’ this month (August 19). The song is built on traditional melodies with layers of instrumentation and synths with guest musicians Michael Keeney (piano, moog, harmonium), Liam Bradley (drums, percussion), Kate Ellis (cello), Pauline Scanlon (backing vocals) and Conor McCreanor. (bass). sisters Breda and Claire Keville also recently released their debut album together, Galway Music, Next Breda’s solo The jump down in 2006 and Claire’s solo The field of daisies in 2009. Galway Music is a collection of music from around the county played on fiddle and accordion, including some of Claire’s own compositions, and accompanied by Terence O’Reilly on guitar.

Other recent releases include an independent band Columbia Mills‘ new single ‘Momentum’ (August 19); Other worldnew PE by Dublin composer and songwriter Lowli (August 24); violinist and singer-songwriter Clare Sands‘ new work ‘Keep the Flame Burning’ (August 17); ‘Setting’, the new title of the electro-pop duo Kyoto Love Hotel (August 10); Waterford R&B singer Carrie Baxter“Satellite,” the fluid hip-hop track from Jafaris (August 5); and ‘Get Up (Out the Bed)’ by Dublin musician, producer and Burner Records co-founder Jake Hurley, performing as local boy (August 12).

The Irish Baroque Orchestra this summer (June 24) also shared her new record The Hibernian Muse – Music for Ireland by Purcell and Cousser with artistic director Peter Whelan and vocal ensemble Sestina.

Listen to a playlist of all recent releases below. To submit your press release, send an e-mail new releases [at]


Comments are closed.